The Before-30 List

30

For some reason, we seem awfully fond of making lists. Resolution lists, shopping lists, grocery lists, t0-do lists, and even bucket lists. Just a month ago, I celebrated my 28th birthday, i.e. I’m now officially less than two years away from the big 3-0!

A little intimidating I have to say.

30 just seems so grown-up, you know? Yes, I know that I’ve long entered adulthood legally, but hitting this milestone age is kinda different. Since it’s way too early to start feeling all depressed about this (it is, after all, more than a year away, and that’s a goddamn long time to be mopey), I’ve decided to make a Before-30 list.

Similar to the concept of the bucket list (just slightly less morbid), this Before-30 list will contain things that I want to do/achieve/try before I hit that publicly-dreaded age (although sometimes I really wonder what’s the fuss about. Maybe it just hasn’t hit me…yet).

The Before-30 list

  1. Run a 10km run (Just.have.to.do.it.once.)
  2. Travel to Europe, and take in the sights, smells and feel of cities like London, Paris and Rome
  3. Sign up for a dance class
  4. Learn how to Rollerblade AGAIN (Actually, I’m still in two minds about this particular one.)
  5. (to be continued)

That’s all for now, but I’ll probably make revisions to this list whenever mood strikes me.

For those of you who are approaching the big 3-0 too, do you have a similar list as well? If so, I’ll really like to hear from you.

P/S: While searching for some suitable imagery to go along with this post, I’ve discovered that there’s a sort of 30-before-30 movement online. Essentially, people are making a list of thirty things that they’ll like to do before reaching thirty. Maybe I should look at expanding my list to do that too.

Alrighty, maybe that will be done as we go along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

