St. Valentine’s Day

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged. Feeble as it may sound, work and friends have really been taking up all of my time.

So many events have passed, without a trace of a word or entry. Christmas…New Year…and now, it’s Valentine’s Day.

Valentine’s day – a day to celebrate your love for your significant other. It’s supposed to be a day of love and happiness, of showing how you feel towards the one your heart strings are tugged to. However, why does it seem to be causing so much grief amidst the singles and the attached?

Single people feel especially vulnerable while attached people bemoan about having to plan and prepare to surprise and delight their loved ones. So no matter which side of the fence you fall on, it’s a lose-lose situation.

It has only been half a day, and I’ve heard more than enough grouses just because of this Valentine’s day. It really irks and saddens me at the same time.

Yes, being single myself, I do understand the ‘peer pressure’ and envy that one might feel while looking at all the lovey-dovey couples on the street. I’ve gone through that phrase myself too. But, upon taking one step back, I realised that how you feel regarding V-day really depends on your mindset. You call the shots.

V-day’s really just another day. Treat it as such, and you’ll be fine.

Take it from me!

On a side note, to all my beloved friends:

Happy Valentine’s Day. Know that I will always love you, even when I’m overly caught up in work. I’ve always kept you where you ought to be – in my mind, and my heart.

One thought on “St. Valentine’s Day

  1. Hey, if you are into contests there is a great contest on YouTube for Valentines Day. The contest is to create a video for the holiday. Actually its two contests, one is to make a video talking about your great love and the second is to actually do an online video proposal called “Will You Marry Me?” Here’s the URL http://www.youtube.com/greatestlovestories?cm_cid=twb8. Right now there are very few entries so you might have a good shot at winning.

Leave a Reply

